Why Do I Write?

Someone asked me the other day why I write, and I had to stop and think about it for a minute. I thought, well, why do you watch a movie? For me, writing was almost like watching a movie, except I got to choose what the story was to be about, who my characters were going to be, and I could even write my own movie with me as the main character if I wanted. It was the same when I read a book. I would get so involved with the story I was reading, it was like a movie in my head. And when I write, it is like a movie in my head too. I can stop the action, rewind back and review what I had just watched and check for mistakes, if I wanted to, and even erase what I had just watched and write something else. In fact I could write a whole scene in my head and transfer it by hand to paper, or type it out on an old fashioned typewriter, or do what I always did and type it on a computer. I could even pause the movie to go get a snack, and continue on when I got back.
Have you ever been so interested in a movie that you completely lost track of time. Me too, when I write. In fact, when the juice is flowing, I might not even hear you talking to me from the other room. It’s true. Ask my wife if you don’t believe me. When the juice is flowing (that’s what I call it) it’s the same feeling as the one that you got when you wrote that answer down on your final exam paper in school, and you knew it was right. And when you finish your movie that you have just created, and all the characters have successfully done their jobs and the curtain closes with the words The End, it’s like finishing the race in first place, and all is right with the world, and you can now relax and enjoy the victory.
That’s why I write. I write because I can escape to a desert island, or catch the bad guys, or just slay a dragon if I want to, all in the same day. Now who wouldn’t want to do that?

Leave a Reply

